26.2

29 Oct

…that’s the number of miles I’ll be running on March 21, 2010. I officially registered with Team in Training, which is part of the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society, to run the Shamrock Marathon in Virginia Beach, VA. I’ll train with a group of runners and raise money that goes directly to LLS. It’s such a humbling thing to know that in exchange for me doing what I love (running), I’m helping those that have been diagnosed with cancer. LLS and The American Cancer Society are two causes that I am very passionate about, as my aunt was diagnosed with cancer in 2008. She has done well, but she is still in treatment at this time. I feel like every little bit helps, and I encourage everyone to find a charity or a cause that they are passionate about and put forth an effort to helping out. It can be as simple as volunteering your time, or it can be as strenuous as using your physical effort to accomplish something. I have always wanted to run a marathon–a life goal, I guess it could be described as. But knowing that I will have the support of my teammates and a wonderful cause to run for makes the 26.2 miles seem minuscule compared to what cancer patients have to deal with on a daily basis. This is in honor of my aunt and every other cancer patient–here’s to providing support to all cancer patients and MOST IMPORTANTLY,  finding a cure to cancer!

-xoxo

Leave a Reply

