Archive | 2:45 pm

Wonderful weekend in the city

1 Dec

The trip to Charlotte, NC was amazing…a long drive though!!! 5 hours plus dealing with traffic…but we made it fun :) We got to the city around 2pm on Saturday, and after checking into the Hilton, went walking around. Strangely enough, the city was pretty much deserted! I’m not used to that…every big city I’ve been to ALWAYS has people walking around and lots of stores and restaurants open. So after wandering around and finding pretty much every store closed, we decided to watch the VT/UVA game in a nearby sports bar. That turned out to be really fun…every wall was covered with TVs so we kept up with multiple games at once and I got to see my Hokies win :) After the game, we went back to the hotel and got ready for the Trans-Siberian Orchestra concert. The arena was only a few blocks from our hotel, so the walk wasn’t bad and it wasn’t too cold outside either. The concert was really nice, but suprisingly, not as good as I expected. Last year it was actually better…don’t quote me on this, but it seemed as though they used the EXACT same playlist for the first half of the show as they did last year. A little disappointing, but overall still a good show!

Sunday, after checking out of the hotel (by the way, this is the first hotel where I’ve seen a NOON checkout time!), we stopped at Starbucks, which always makes me happy to know that I found a guy who loves Starbucks as much as I do :) On the way home, we stopped in Concord Mills, NC…which if you don’t know, is a WONDERFUL shopping area. I highly recommend it if you’re ever in the area! We spent wayyy too much time and money there, but had lots of fun. I think Sunday was actually a better day than Saturday overall :) We got home super late for a Sunday night, and I did not want to go to class the next day. So I slept late, and went to 4 out of 5 classes. Can’t believe there are only 5 more days of classes to go…where did the semester go?! On that note, I should get back to my three 10-12 page papers due within a week…yikes!

-xoxo

Pretty lights in Charlotte

Hotel room at the Hilton

Super huge Bass Pro Shops and Outdoor World :)