Workout, diet plans, and Hot Yoga!

8 Jan

Well, as I’ve been training for a marathon, despite my leg injury…I thought about how I should start eating better. Now, I’m pretty much a health freak already, and I don’t like foods that are too salty/fattening/carb-laden/sugary, but I have a bad habit of skipping meals. I always always always have breakfast, which is a major plus being healthy, but I tend to skip lunch or eat something like cereal in place of a meal. Often. If I didn’t do that but on a rare occasion, it may not be so bad. However, I do this too many times in a week. Not only that, but even though I LOVE salads, I still don’t eat enough fruits & veggies. I have cereal or oatmeal for breakfast, a salad for lunch when I even bother to eat, and usually a protein/carb/veggie for dinner. Dinner is probably the most balanced and healthy meal I eat in a day.

Sooooo…I’ve been thinking about it, and I really would like to try the “gluten-free” diet. I’ve heard good things about it, and most people that follow it say they feel better and more energetic. I think that this could be really beneficial since I workout really tough every day…it would be nice to have an energy boost! So I’ve decided that I need to read up on that ASAP and get started. I’ll be in an apartment in a week with a nice kitchen, so I can cook up a storm if I want to! It’s more challenging being at home trying to eat differently, because my parents are a bad influence on me! ha ha…although I know my mom would like to try the gluten-free thing too, so I’ll try to talk her into trying it as well ;)

I’ve been doing a lot of cross-training/strength training and not as much running as I’d like, but I can’t do but so much with my leg the way it is. On a good day, a ten-mile run is great…I was going for at least ten miles yesterday, though, and decided that seven miles was as good as it would get. And I definitely paid for it last night…I was icing my leg while watching the BCS game…ROLL TIDE ROLL! :) So anyways, since cross-training is such a focal point right now, I’ve been upping the intensity quite a bit. If I do the elliptical, its for at least 50 minutes at a really high level…enough to make me feel like I just ran ten or so miles…haha. Spinning is also one of my favorites…I like to do a really intense class a few times a week. I also do an Abs class on days I do Spinning…core muscles are imperative to running! I do like to strength train at least twice a week…this has made a big difference in all of my workouts!

I’ll be trying something new tomorrow (Saturday) that I’ve ALWAYS wanted to try…hot yoga! I love yoga so much, and its really good for runners. I’ve heard that hot yoga is even better for runners, plus its just good for the body to sweat out all those toxins! Soooo I signed up for an early morning 90-minute class…so excited…I’ll have to do a recap afterwards!

-xoxo

7 Responses to “Workout, diet plans, and Hot Yoga!”

  1. Amy January 8, 2010 at 1:32 pm #

    I’m also very much guilty of eating cereal for lunch and dinner. Pretty sure I’ve had it for all three meals before- I’m a Kashi whore… so I feel your pain on that one…

    • britdanielle7 January 8, 2010 at 3:23 pm #

      Yep I have too…its a difficult habit to break! haha

  2. Marco Rados January 17, 2010 at 1:38 am #

    Hello there, first and foremost I need to state that I thoroughly loved studying all of this post. I was just interested to determine if you were interested in making some guest content on a page of mine? This can also give you the opportunity in promoting your web site too. We’d also love to make a page for your web-site too, should you be interested naturally. This is the web-site that you’ll have the prospect to write for: Medifast Coupons Have a quick glimpse but I think you will agree that with your great writing and point of view you’ll be capable to spread your expertise and pick up some additional limelight for your own site. Contact details are within the web site. Awaiting hearing from you.

  3. Clinton Sitzes January 23, 2010 at 3:27 pm #

    Low carb diets are easily the best way to lose weight and get ripped. Obviosuly taking it to the extreme is never good and thats why carby cycling works so well.

  4. Michelle.Blix January 27, 2010 at 2:16 pm #

    I started yoga a while ago, I really love it. It’s kinda changed my life. I also noticed my eating and sleeping habits have changed. I am eating alot more fruit and I never miss breakfast now.

    • britdanielle7 January 29, 2010 at 12:05 am #

      I know, I love the feeling I get from yoga…it’s like a “runners high”, but instead its a “yoga high” …haha :)

  5. Natalie January 31, 2010 at 4:28 am #

    I normally dont stop to leave comments, but it is hard to find good information on this topic today. You did a fantastic job in this article and I am going to look at the rest of your blog. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

