A Little Less Ordinary

1 Feb

Well today has been quite an interesting day! I was thinking that my college would have at least a two-hour delay this morning because of all the snow we had over the weekend, but no such luck! I almost busted my butt walking to the bus stop (the bus was necessary because my car was buried in knee-deep snow!). But surprisingly enough, all of the roads were clear in town, so I guess there was no reason to have a delay anyways. I went to my two classes and my plan when I got back to my townhouse was to dig out my SUV. Without a shovel. I had to get creative with this one…so I took a small trashcan and started hauling snow out from behind my car. That was quite a workout actually! A guy happened to walk by and I think he felt bad for me…ha ha ha. He walked up and started helping me…it was so nice of him! Then a girl that lives in a townhouse across from me offered to let me use her bigger trashcan, which is what she used to dig out her car earlier. So that helped save some time…but then another neighbor offered to use his shovel to do the rest. So sweet! My SUV has four-wheel drive, so all we needed to do was just get rid of the huge pile of snow behind my car. It ended up not taking long at all with all the help I got! Some people are just so generous :)

My goal after unburying my car and working out (one-hour strength/cardio video…really good workou actually!) was to do some major grocery shopping! I got lots of veggies, fruit, hummus, tofu and other good things so I can cook good food all week! I needed to stock up since we are supposed to get ice after midnight tonight and all day tomorrow, so I think I’ll be stuck inside yet again…not to mention the snow we are supposed to get this weekend! It looks like its neverending around here…I will be so happy to get out of the townhouse and go home next weekend for Valentines Day!!! Not looking forward to the five-hour drive, but its well-worth it to see my family & my boyfriend :)

Speaking of my boyfriend…I think that one of the most challenging things for me is being away from him. He is my rock and I know he supports me in everything I do (as does my family), and its hard to be so far away and not be able to spend time with him on a regular basis. Regardless of the distance, though, he always puts a smile on my face. If I’m having a bad day, he knows how to make me feel better. Granted, I’d MUCH rather be at home in his arms, but just talking to him still makes everything better :) Ah that was pretty sappy…I’m not much of a sappy person, but I’ve found myself becoming increasingly that way…love is an emotional thing, isn’t it?! ha ha ;)

-xoxo

2 Responses to “A Little Less Ordinary”

  1. Allie (Live Laugh Eat) February 2, 2010 at 12:40 am #

    Hahaha I love that you dug out your car to go grocery shopping. I was NOT pleased about class this morning. No emails from professors canceling class either meant class for all of eternity today!

    Not cool!!!

    • britdanielle7 February 2, 2010 at 9:26 am #

      I know I was sooo disappointed when I woke up and had to go to class! And I’m glad I started digging out my car when I did because it was like perfect timing that the two guys went by and offered to help! haha

Leave a Reply

