Running, TJ’s, Family, and Love…Perfection

14 Feb

Wow its been such a busy weekend! I felt like I wasn’t able to relax at all while I was home, but I did a lot of fun things so its okay ;) Friday, after I did an Abs class, my friend Brian met me at the Y for Spin class. It was nice to catch up and we got a good workout in too. I didn’t push myself 100% like I usually do, because I knew I was going to be running a 14k the next day, Saturday.

Saturday morning I woke up at 5:30am to get ready and drive to Virginia Beach for the VA Is For Lovers 14k…well actually my dad drove. I love my fam…they always go to every race to support me, even when we have to wake up at an ungodly hour! :) Thank goodness my dad drove, since we had 3″ of snow on the ground when we were leaving! Umm…the weathermen did not call for that much snow! They said only a dusting…and obviously the city bought into it, because there was not a single snow plow on the roads near my house. In fact, we had to drive about 35mph until we were about 20 minutes into the trip, when the roads finally cleared up. But luckily, we left early enough to have extra time to get to the race location. I’m going to shamelessly plug J&A Racing for again putting on a fabulous race! If anyone has ever heard of the Shamrock Marathon in Virginia Beach, well, J&A puts that race on too. They did a spectacular job on this VIFL 14k as well…and I’ve heard that the inaugural Blue Moon Wicked 10k (October) was awesome. They give awesome finisher’s “gifts” and medals and nice technical running shirts at all three of their races. I also like the courses as well. I may be partial because I just love that these races are local and I love Va Beach ;)

After the race Saturday…which I ended up being the 481st finisher out of 3,000…crazy. I didn’t realize I even did that good…haha. The fam and I went to Panera for lunch…which is by far my favorite place, ever. I choose Panera over any other restaurant…seriously! Then we went to Trader Joes…ahh its like heaven. I love walking around and looking at all of the neat things to buy. We ended up with quite a bit of things: quinoa, variety pack of TJ’s hummus, pita chips, almond butter, no salt added albacore tuna, lots of 0% greek yogurt, my fave…and a few other things. I have a fully stocked kitchen back at school now ;)

Saturday night, the boy and I had a Valentines Day date night a little early, because I had to leave to go back to school today. We went to the Cheesecake Factory, where we proceeded to wait an hour and 15 minutes(!) to be seated. It was so crazy there last night! However, every experience I’ve had at that particular Cheesecake Factory has been super-crowded and long waits…I think its because its the only one in the area! I got a Barbeque Ranch Grilled Chicken Salad…obviously not the healthiest thing, but I only ate 1/3 of it…their portion sizes are humongous! Afterwards, we were planning to go see Dear John. However, it took more time in the restaurant than we thought it would, and both of the nearby theaters had a showing at the time we preferred. So I quickly called my mom and got her to look up movie times at other theaters, and a few minutes later we decided to drive to the only theater that had a showing we could make it to…which happened to be on the way home, so it worked out well! I don’t have a lot to say about that movie, except this: the movie is NOTHING like the book. The plot location wasn’t even the same?! Overall, it was a decent movie, and of course had sad parts (this is Nicholas Sparks we’re talking about!) but I would recommend not reading the book before you see it if you plan to! Its not a huge deal, its just hard to separate what you read and what you’re seeing on the screen. I kept telling my boyfriend “No! This is not how it happened!” hahaha :)

So after not getting home ’til almost 1am last night…and then not going to sleep until 3am, I am exhausted! I made the 5-hour drive back to school this afternoon, and it was extra-boring and seemed longer than usual. Blah. I stopped by the grocery store on the way in because *surprise, surprise* we’re supposed to get about 3″-6″ of snow overnight & tomorrow. Just what I wanted!!! ha ha just kidding. I have never been more ready for the beach and hot weather! Well I think I’m in need of some serious sleep…back to the grind tomorrow…that is unless classes get canceled! Fingers crossed ;)

-xoxo

Leave a Reply

