A Weekend of Improvisation ;)

28 Feb

After failing to get to a Hot Yoga class yesterday, I knew that my goal for today was to finally make it to the studio! Ideally, I’d love to do Hot Yoga at least once a weekend, but between snowed-in weekends we’ve had since January and then traveling home a few weekends ago, I have only had the chance to go three times so far. I really wanted to get a session in before I go home for Spring Break on Friday(!)…and I might be making a trip out sometime next week to my favorite Hot Yoga studio near my hometown ;)

Anyways, I woke up at 6am this morning with a sore throat…and the TV volume up pretty loud. Apparently I fell asleep while watching SNL last night and slept for ~6 hours with the volume up loud. Did anyone see SNL last night? I love J. Lo! But back to that sore throat…I’ve been having “allergies” the past week or so, and I’m beginning to think its a cold…but I don’t know. It hasn’t gotten worse, but it certainly hasn’t gotten better. When I woke up at 6am, I chugged a pack of Emergen-C…and then another around 11. Can’t be getting sick right before Spring Break!!! After all of that, I decided I would start on some school work (surprise, I know), and I also did laundry and cleaned the kitchen, my room, and bathroom. I was on a roll apparently ;) Then I still really wanted to get in a 5-mile run, so I braved the cold and snow flurries and went out for the run a little before I was supposed to go to Hot Yoga. I got back around 3, and left for yoga at 3:30. I felt fine, but I probably should’ve drank more water and possibly had 1/2 banana. The yoga studio was extra hot and humid today…even the instructor noticed and acknowledged it…she turned on the ceiling fan and opened the door to let in a little cool air! I started to feel very lightheaded and nauseated while we were standing and doing balance poses, so I had to go into Child’s Pose a few times. This is sooooo rare for me…I never get that dizzy feeling! I think it was a combination of the extra hot studio, sweating on my 5-mile run before yoga, and not replacing electrolytes. I also normally do Hot Yoga first thing in the morning, so I have never ran before a class before. But overall, it was still a great session and I feel really rejuvenated now! :)

I’m sure that running outside didn’t help my potential “cold”…but when I have something I want to do, better believe I’m going to do it! ha ha…so I didn’t get my 10-miler today, but I got 5 yesterday, 5 today and Hot Yoga. So it all balanced out anyways :) It was a pretty good weekend, and the best part is that in less than 5 days, I’ll be headed home for a whole week! ;)

-xoxo

5 Responses to “A Weekend of Improvisation ;)”

  1. Amy @ Second City Randomness February 28, 2010 at 10:51 pm #

    We caught the end of SNL last night! JLo is so funny! Loved it…

  2. britdanielle7 February 28, 2010 at 11:04 pm #

    Yeah it was a good show! I was hoping to watch the whole thing…but clearly I fell asleep before the end…haha

  3. Erin February 28, 2010 at 11:54 pm #

    Sounds like a productive weekend! Heard great things about hot yoga but haven’t tried yet — is it good for beginners or more advanced?

    • britdanielle7 March 1, 2010 at 12:47 am #

      It’s pretty self-explanatory…there have been quite a few beginners in the classes I’ve been to! Its not “flowing” poses, instead you do one pose then go back to standing and move on to a new pose. So you don’t get lost or anything like that! It is very hot though…that definitely took getting used to the first time! :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fitness&Nutrition-filled weekend! « Working On The Fab Life - March 28, 2010

    […] time to take the class too :) I LOVE Hot Yoga, which I’m sure you already knew if you read my blog…ha ha. I think we raised a pretty good amount for Relay, and there were LOTS of people that […]

Leave a Reply

