A Nice Bronze Glow…

2 Mar

Who doesn’t want a nice summery glow, especially when the weather is so gloomy. This time of year is when the college girls invade the tanning salons in town and on a good day, you wait an hour for a tanning bed that you’ll use for ~15 minutes. I used to be one of those girls…up until last May, actually. I started tanning in the Spring of my senior year in high school…I was getting ready to go on a cruise, and I wanted to have a “base tan”…didn’t want to look pasty on my first days in the Caribbean! Isn’t that funny? Most of us attempt to get tan before we go on vacation to a place where we’ll get really tan. Its really ironic, but a lot of us do it. In fact, I continued to do that every Spring for 3 years. I just loved the atmosphere of a tanning salon, the tropical smell, and the warm tanning beds felt sooooo good on a snowy day. Not to mention that “healthy” glow you noticed almost immediately, and how smooth your skin feels after tanning. I was hooked. Sure, there was always that underlying issue of the danger of tanning beds…but it never really got to me. Then, all the sudden, it became a widespread issue…and scientific evidence proved that tanning beds were dangerous. My mom even kept nagging me to stop tanning, but I told myself that if I only went two times a week, it wasn’t that bad. I had a serious addiction to it, and hardly any amount of a cancer threat could stop me from tanning. But something started to ‘click’, and every time I would lay in that tanning bed, I would start to feel anxious. I started thinking “what if…I got cancer from tanning?” “would I know it immediately?” “would it be really bad, would it spread?” Yes those thoughts started to overwhelm my mind, and I finally got to a place where I decided my life was way more important that a “healthy” glow…which is ironic in itself, because any “glow” you get from a tanning bed is not healthy! Don’t get me wrong, I still soak up the (real) sun…but I do wear at least SOME spf. As a lifeguard, I don’t have much choice but to love the sun, but I have become much more careful and responsible about my suntan habits.

So what’s a girl to do to achieve that bronze glow at any time during the year? Well, faux tanners work well, as long as you use the right ones! Some turn you orange, and others streak really bad. I’ve wasted plenty of money over the years with these…and even had spray-on tans done in the past for weddings/parties. Those usually looked natural, except they didn’t always wear off evenly. But I’ve finally found some instant tanners that I like and don’t turn my body orange. The first is one that I actually caught on sale at Victoria’s Secret during the Semi-Annual Sale in January.  Its from the Beach Sexy Collection, Sunkissed Bronze Instant Self Tan Lotion with Tint. The bottle I have looks slightly different than this one does, but I’m pretty sure its just a new design.

I only use the self-tanner about once a week or so…I like a subtle glow, but I don’t want to look unnaturally tan. I like to put on lotion after a shower so my skin isn’t dry, so I use Jergens Natural Glow Firming Daily Moisturizer. I know some people think it makes their skin have an orangish tint, but I don’t really notice it on my skin. In fact, its really subtle, especially if you don’t use it every day. But I really like the firming part as well…it really smooths your skin too.


Finally, Jergens has also made a Healthy Complexion Facial Moisturizer, which I really love. I have to use facial moisturizer before putting on makeup because my skin gets sooo dry in the winter! I love this because it adds a little glow to your face without causing your face to suddenly become a different shade. ha ha. That is always my fear about putting instant tanner on my face…so this is a good alternative. Its very subtle and isn’t going to turn your face orange or anything!

Well Spring Break is right around the corner, ya’ll…better start bronzing…in a healthy way ;)

One Response to “A Nice Bronze Glow…”

  1. Gracie @ Girl Meets Health April 5, 2010 at 7:59 pm #

    Amen to the Jergen’s Natural Glow! That stuff is amazing. I should’ve added it in my post, actually :P I use that in the summer and inbetween using St. Tropez to maintain my “tan” :)

Leave a Reply

