Weekend Recap!

8 Mar

Well it was definitely an eventful and busy weekend! Friday, I was driving home from the ‘Burg for 5 hours, then I went for an 8-mile run that was nothing short of exciting…ha ha. Saturday, I got to go birthday shopping and I finally got my Longchamp bag that I’ve been drooling over ;) And Sunday, the fam, the boy, and I took a drive to the beach (OBX) for the day. We took my SUV because it has 4WD and we had planned to drive on the beach. So we woke up early and headed towards the beach. I had already decided on getting in a run on the beach, and the boy actually said he would run, too! I can get him to run with me occasionally, but he just isn’t loving it…he prefers strength training and playing basketball for hours rather than running. But I haven’t given up…still trying to convert him to running with me! Anyways, we both started off running together, and he stopped at about mile 1.5 and I kept going until I made it to 2.5 miles. And that is when I got a text message from one of my best friends (we’ve been great friends since high school)…she got engaged over the weekend! I am so so so thrilled for her…so exciting! Wow, so many of my friends have gotten married/engaged recently…makes me feel old! Looks like the boy & I are going to be among the LAST of our friends to get married…he has a year of school left and then one year to get his Master’s degree, and I have three years of law school ahead! So anyways, after all of that excitement, I turned around and started on my way back to catch up with the boy and continue running back to the starting point. I told him the exciting news and he was possibly in shock(?!) that another of our friends is engaged! He said he’s jealous of all of our friends…I know he’s so ready to propose, but he really wants to finish school and secure a job before we do anything drastic! ;) So we made our way back…I ended up doing about 5 miles total…I LOVE running on the beach! I plan to live near a beach and be able to do that whenever I want to! :)

After a late lunch with the fam, we all headed home. About 30 minutes in, my dad noticed my car was running rough…so we pulled off at the only place nearby, a Rest Area. Welp, long story short, the brake pads were sticking, which caused exceedingly hot temperatures from the friction and can essentially cause the tire to melt and the car to catch on fire…LOVELY. So we were basically stranded. Luckily, my uncle, a mechanic(!) made the 1.5 hour drive and he and my dad fixed the problem right there! We made it home much later than planned, but hey, its Spring Break so no worries! ;)

I was sooo exhausted after the craziness of the weekend, so I went to bed fairly early and got about 9 hours of sleep! It feels weird to be at home, doing nothing…but I guess I should enjoy it while I have the opportunity!

Pretty beach & perfect running weather ;)

-xoxo

2 Responses to “Weekend Recap!”

  1. Slamdunk March 8, 2010 at 2:05 pm #

    We enjoy running on the beaches of the OBX as well–at least once a year.

    • britdanielle7 March 8, 2010 at 3:32 pm #

      I know, isn’t is so nice on the Outer Banks??? :) I would run on the beach there every day if I could!

Leave a Reply

