Weekend Recap

15 Mar

Spring Break sure did make me slack on blog posting! Here’s a “Weekend Recap” for the second weekend in a row…so unlike me!

Saturday was my 21st, which if you read my blog, was fairly obvious. Ha ha…I’ve only mentioned it 2843243 times! The weather was gorgeous on Saturday, so I went out for a 5-mile run in the sunshine. I ran a LOT more at home than I do at school…its just better for running where I live. I love having access to all of the back country roads where there is hardly any traffic! After my run, I did some ab work and then started getting ready to go out for my birthday dinner. We left the house in plenty of time to get there, and even had time to stop by The Fresh Market so I could pick up some Spring Blend coffee…almost out of Starbucks House Blend and I wanted to try something new! We drove over to The Melting Pot for our 7pm reservation…and it didn’t disappoint, of course ;) I have been there about 4 times, my parents have been twice, and this was the boy’s first experience there. I love love love it…this is the second birthday I’ve celebrated there! We did a 4-course meal: two kinds of cheese fondue, salads, meat entrees, and a white/dark chocolate swirled dessert fondue. I was stuffed after the salad!!! I didn’t eat all of the meat….gave it to my dad and boyfriend. They’ll eat anything…haha. It was wayyy too much food…I would recommend splitting the meat entree…or just getting cheese + chocolate fondue and skipping the meat altogether! After dinner, the manager stopped by and offered to make me a free drink for my 21st…so I ordered the Strawberry Basil Lemonade which had Smirnoff Strawberry Twist vodka, lemonade, strawberries, and basil leaves. It was so good…and you could barely taste the alcohol, so that could be dangerous. ha ha. We attempted to go bar-hopping afterwards, but to be honest, the city we were in doesn’t have a lot of selection. We went to an English pub, but it had literally just opened for business and was way too crowded. So we went to a really awesome Irish pub that’s been around forever…but they weren’t allowing unders at all, so the boy couldn’t get in. He’s a youngin’ compared to me I guess. haha.  Sooo we ended up at Cheddars, which is like a chain restaurant/bar…not exactly where I had planned to go, but it turned out fine. The waiter was excellent and hilarious, and he talked everyone (except my boyfriend) into ordering drinks. I got my mojito! It was actually really good, but this particular one was verrrry strong. I thought better of having another of those, so I ended up being talked into a 24 oz. Coors Light. For some reason, it tasted soooo much better now that I’m “legal”…haha I’m not sure that even makes sense! But now, the possibilities are endless…I’m not even much of a drinker…seriously…but I had the urge to buy a bottle of wine when I stopped at the grocery store tonight, just because I can. I didn’t buy it though…guess I’m not that exciting!

After having drinks, I literally fell asleep in the car on the way home. I just can’t hang anymore. haha. Freshman year of college I could stay out and drink until 3am…okay, that isn’t something I should be proud of…but you get my point ;) Once I got home, all I wanted to do was sleep (did I mention it was almost 1am at this point?!)…I even passed up Funfetti Birthday cake (my fave!) that my mom made healthy just for me with egg whites + applesauce! Don’t worry, I had cake for lunch yesterday to make up for it.

I had planned to drive back to school yesterday, but eh, that didn’t happen after Saturday night. I was sooo tired so I decided to drive back on Monday. So I ended up going to my gym for Spin class + strength training. It was a much-needed detoxifier….I always feel better once I sweat out the alcohol. haha. It was nice to spend another night at home with the fam & the boy. I really dread going back to school, but only 2 more months to go! Oh and I’ll be driving home again in 4 days for the Shamrock Half Marathon on Sunday…soooo I have that to look forward to this week :) Minus all the work I have to do, I mean…

-xoxo

Leave a Reply

