A little too much

19 Mar

So in the midst of a crazy busy three weeks, one of my roommates convinced me to go out for St. Patty’s Day. Part of me reallllly wanted to (just turned 21…first AND last St. Patty’s Day in college…yeah) but part of me knew I should stay in and get some work done. Ha ha…let’s just say, you only live once—I went out ;) I honestly haven’t been much of a partier since freshman year of college…and I don’t really miss it. But I wanted to have this experience…plus I really wanted to finally go bar-hopping since I didn’t on my birthday! We got an early-ish start around 8:30 and 4 of us split a pitcher of Guinness…yikes, not my favorite. Then a friend bought us a round of Lemon Drops for my 21st…they were pretty good actually. We ended up at another bar doing Irish Car Bombs…pretty good but you have to chug it or it curdles because of the Bailey’s! After dropping off a friend at another bar (we didn’t drink anything there), we went back to bar #2 and I was forced to take a tequila shot…which I actually like tequila, so NBD…haha. I should mention that I had yet to buy my own drink…perks of being a birthday girl ;) I probably should’ve stopped at that point (it was only like 10pm…haha) but nooo. Next up, a Blue Moon…one of my favorites actually. And followed that with a Coors Light. Then moved on to bar #3, and I was ready to go home at that point! We get our hands stamped and go upstairs and meet up with friends…then my roommate disappears. Yeah, she left. So I’m stuck with no way to get home and all I wanted to do was SLEEP. Its almost midnight at this point. I asked a mutual friend if he knew how I could get home…he said he could definitely get us a ride around 12:30 or 1. Noooo, I was way too tired at that point. Knowing the buses stop running at midnight, I started walking downstairs…and he followed me and offered to drive me home. But we had to walk over a mile to his apartment to get his car. Sweet. Did I mention I’m wearing 5″ heels??? Fortunately(?) the alcohol numbed my feet so I didn’t feel the pain of my very cute heels. It was all kind of a blur, but it seemed like we made it back to his apartment in record time. I don’t remember what was said during that walk…hopefully nothing embarrassing. Oh well. So I got a ride back and immediately collapsed in bed. Good thing I set my alarm before I even started drinking! I woke up after sleeping 7 hours and felt like I had been hit by a Mack truck. Yeah…and I had to go to Personal Training class. Always a good thing to do, get plastered and go to a class that promotes health and well-being. Let’s just say it won’t happen again. I honestly don’t enjoy drinking a lot and I’m definitely not going out on a weeknight again. Not worth it! I’ll stick to my “early to bed, early to rise” mantra and catch up on Keeping With The Kardashians while doing schoolwork. It’s much more worthwhile in the long run ;)

I made another “bad” life choice (or good life choice…in my opinion) by choosing to skip classes and drive home yesterday instead of waiting until tonight. It was totally worth it. This is Shamrock Sportsfest weekend…the half marathon is on Sundayyyy ;) I feel SO much more prepared than I did last year and I’m looking forward to it. Ahh, right now I’m living the life: laying in the yard, tanning and catching up on blogs. Classes, what classes? ;)

-xoxo

2 Responses to “A little too much”

  1. Erin March 19, 2010 at 11:28 pm #

    One St. Patrick’s Day in college, my friends and I did a few Irish car bombs (Guinness and Baileys) before going dancing. After about an hour, we were all curled up in the fetal position — too much heavy liquor and movement! ;)

    I don’t *not* drink but rarely have more than a drink or two a month. I feel better when I don’t touch it, even when the rest of my friends are. That’s a change from college haha!

    • britdanielle7 March 21, 2010 at 1:33 pm #

      Haha…yeah I’m not sure I could handle more than one Irish Car Bomb in a night…its so gross when the Bailey’s curdles! I’m not much of a drinker either…got over that after Freshman year of college. St. Patty’s Day reminded me why I choose not to drink a lot…haha

Leave a Reply

