Tears of Happiness

21 Mar

I just got home from running the Shamrock Half Marathon in Virginia Beach, VA…and I have never been happier. I set out with a goal: to finish in less than 2 hours…and I finished in 1:55! I wasn’t sure I could keep my pace up for the whole race, but I kept my pace below a nine-minute mile the entire race. I trained hard for this race and I’m so proud that I accomplished my goal! Last year at this very same event, I was running my very first half marathon after dealing with an IT band problem for the 3 months before the race and only having trained up to a 7-mile run. Last year, my finish time was 2:09, which I was still very proud of, especially since I was injured and hadn’t trained properly. But PR’ing by 14 minutes today had me in tears while running towards the finish line…it was an amazing feeling, and I think this is a runner’s high that is going to last a few days ;)

-xoxo

6 Responses to “Tears of Happiness”

  1. Off The Eaten Path March 21, 2010 at 2:02 pm #

    congrats! Amazing time. You should definitely be proud. :)

  2. Timothy Wakefield March 21, 2010 at 11:45 pm #

    Congratulations on a great run! I completely understand how frustrating an IT Band injury can be. I have been struggling with mine for the last 2 months. It gets better and then it gets worse. The best advice I can give you is to cross train as much as possible. It seems to help. Good luck and here is a post on my blog pertaining to the frustrations of IT Band Syndrome. http://runridelive.blogspot.com/2010/02/turning-lemons-into-lemonade.html

  3. Erin March 22, 2010 at 1:02 am #

    That is SO amazing! You should be proud of yourself and celebrate! :D

  4. britdanielle7 March 22, 2010 at 7:25 am #

    Thanks! It was such a great run…I feel really accomplished :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Newfound Optimism « Working On The Fab Life - March 23, 2010

    […] Links I Love Tears of Happiness […]

  2. Happy New Year! « Working On The Fab Life - January 1, 2011

    […] my second half-marathon and PR’d with a time of […]

Leave a Reply

