A Day Full of Potential

2 Apr

So I had my day allllll planned out yesterday…I woke up earlier than usual, packed my car, went to the gym, then went to classes. I was on my way home by 2pm…and then I went up the first big hill on the way out of the ‘Burg. And my car like…stuttered? coughed? hesitated? Ha I don’t even know the words to describe it. I kept driving, thinking it was a one-time occurrence. Oh but I was clearly wrong, and I had just gotten on I-81, which is the scariest highway of all time. Traffic rarely goes under 80mph and the majority of the road is overtaken by 18-wheelers. Always a stressful ride…even though I’m only on 81 for about 40 minutes. Thank goodness! Well, yesterday, my car kept doing the hesitating thing, so I was clearly freaking out. I pulled over at a rest area and called my dad because he’s the best mechanic I know…although its really hard to explain car problems over the phone. He was convinced it was bad fuel and told me to keep driving. At this point, I’m in tears. I was TERRIFIED to keep driving…but I did. I even went to an auto parts store at my dad’s suggestion and bought something to put into the gas tank to fix the water-in-the-gasoline problem. Well, I thought it had worked for about 30 miles…then it started messing up again. I was a MESS at this point and called my mom in tears. My parents ended up driving out and meeting me halfway so my dad could drive my car home. Let’s just say my parents are the greatest.

After THAT experience, I was crazy enough to get back in my car today and drive to the gym. Because my dad said it was driveable. And because I was not skipping 9:15 Spin class and lifting afterwards. I’m pretty stubborn. Haha. I had my fingers crossed the entire drive to and from the gym! Luckily, I made it back home safely. I spent the rest of today laying outside in the 85-degree weather! Does that really happen in April?! Wow, it has been a gorgeous day :) I also got a littleeeee bit sunburned…or a lot. Oops. I honestly think its because I haven’t been out in a bikini since last summer so my skin was bound to burn. Since I don’t go tanning anymore, I don’t keep that year-round fakebake glow. And I’m totally okay with that. Except that getting sunburned today probably wasn’t much better than laying in a tanning bed. Oh well, hopefully that won’t happen again!

Tomorrow morning is the 5k with the boy and one of our friends…I’m a little pumped. I want to get a PR…well beat my time from last year…for the 5k this time around. haha. I’ve sure been running enough sprints to pick up my speed! I’m a little nervous about the heat actually…I much prefer to run in cool weather, but its going to feel like summer here, even in the morning! Oh well better get used to it…warm weather is definitely among us ;)

-xoxo

One Response to “A Day Full of Potential”

  1. Amy @ Second City Randomness April 2, 2010 at 11:44 pm #

    Car problems are the worst! I hope everything is ok with it… I got water in my gas tank once and it died on a hill with traffic behind me when I was 16… no good!

    Have fun running the 5k tomorrow! Good race vibes being sent your way… :)

Leave a Reply

