13. Holiday Baking: Gingerbread

13 Dec

Gingerbread just screams “Christmas” to me…it comes in so many forms: cookies, cakes, Gingerbread houses, ornaments, etc. One way or the other, you probably encounter some form of Gingerbread during the holidays! Here are some ways to incorporate it into your holiday season:

1. Gingerbread House, $9.99 at World Market…shameless plug for the ‘Market, since my Dad works in the corp. division ;) I love making Gingerbread houses during Christmas…its your chance to showcase your talent!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. “Gingerbread” Ornaments – Very easy to make…here is a recipe and directions for how to make these!

 

An example of what it looks like when ready!

 

 

3. Colonial Williamsburg Gingerbread Cookies – Recipe can be found here. This recipe is excellent!

 

Its currently “blizzarding” at my house, which is really rare for this area (especially before Christmas!)…this is our second snow before Christmas, in fact. I LOVE it. It reminds me of the good ol’ days in the ‘Burg, where we got snow every single day it felt like. Except, I like it a whole lot more here than I did there, because HERE the whole place shuts down if it snows. There, life goes on…you have to go out in the snow…haha ;)

-xoxo

2 Responses to “13. Holiday Baking: Gingerbread”

  1. Charlie P December 13, 2010 at 5:55 pm #

    My daughter, Megan and granddaugher, Kaylee made gingerbread men. It came in a kit with the mix eye, hearts and frosting. They did a great job but it tasted horrible so she make them into ornaments. I also convinced Megan to make me gingerbread cookies from a different mix and they were edible but still not really good so I’ll have her try the Williamsburg one. :-) Last year they made the gingerbread house from the kit…we ended up eating all the gumdrops! :-) I love Christmas time and the snow we get here!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 20. Get Into The Christmas Spirit « Working On The Fab Life - December 21, 2010

    […] Make a Gingerbread House – This is a simple way to get excited for the upcoming holiday. If you want to make it more […]

Leave a Reply

